Everything Summit County

Summit County is found a little more than an hour west of Denver, Colorado. It is home to four distinct mountain towns – Frisco, Silverthorne, Dillon and Breckenridge. It also offers just as many destination ski areas – Copper Mountain, Keystone Resort, Arapahoe Basin Ski Area and Breckenridge Mountain Resort. Summit County’s winter season is longer than average due to the region’s high elevations. Frisco clocks in at 9,100 feet, and Breckenridge is even higher at 9,600 feet. Skiing at Arapahoe Basin is often offered well into June. Summit County is steeped in colorful mining history as well. Downtown Frisco and Breckenridge, along with parts of Dillon, date back to Colorado’s Gold Rush. Many old structures remain intact and in use throughout the destination region. Summit County is now a popular vacation spot, offering fine dining, boutique and luxury hotels, seasonal events, shopping and more. Lake Dillon, a large freshwater reservoir serving the city of Denver, additionally offers scenic views unparalleled around the region. Dillon and Frisco marinas offer boating, kayaking and tours. A summer destination in its own right, the lake draws visitors as does Summit County’s variety of seasonal events and festivals.

LIVE LOCAL UPDATES! Subscribe to our newsletter.